Succulent, spicy, scrumptious shrimp anyone? Can you give me another descriptive “S” word ya’ll?Ā  I don’t think that I used nearly enough.

I know that Memorial Day weekend is usually all about grilling but since we live on the coast I enjoy making some seafood snacks to go along with my oversized stuffed burgers. This is one that my darlin’ can’t get enough of. Unfortunately the monkeys taste buds are still developing but that just means more for me right. Oh Yeah!

I am sure that someone else must have come up with a spicy shrimp tortilla recipe before now but this is my version. This recipe makes approx. 20-22 tortilla chips. If you need more all you have to do is double the ingredients.

Here is what you will need.

Cajun Shrimp Tortillas

5 cloves of garlic-minced

1 shallot-minced

1 medium firm tomato-diced

1/2 cup diced green pepper

1/2 cup canned sweet corn

1/2 lb shrimp-cleaned & deveined

1 tsp Cajun’s Choice Creole Seasoning

a pinch of sea salt

2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

Tostitos Blue Corn Chips or your favorite tortilla chips

1/2 cup Gruyere’ or cheese of your choice-garnish

1/2 cup sour cream-garnish

1 tsp chives-garnish

1 tsp lemon zest-garnish

Prep work-

Pre-heat the oven to 400

Coat a baking sheet with EVOO or cooking spray.

Clean & devein the shrimp pat dry between paper towels. Coat the shrimp in Cajun seasoning, add a pinch of sea salt and set aside.

Mince the garlic and shallot.

Dice the tomato and green pepper.

First-

Begin sauteing the garlic and shallot on medium heat in 1 tsp of EVolive oil for approx. 2 minutes (you do not want it to turn golden).

Add the green pepper, tomato and corn in with the garlic and shallot. Saute for approx. 5-8 minutes. Basically you want to sweat out as much moisture as possible, yet you don’t want to cook the veggies so long that they become mushy. Once the veggies are done set aside.

Saute the shrimp on medium heat in 1tsp EV olive oil until just firm and pink, approx. 6-8 minutes. Once the shrimp is done remove them from the saute pan and rough chop into bite size pieces.

Now the fun part, build your tortillas šŸ™‚ Lay out the blue chips on the baking sheet and add approx. 1/2 tsp of the veggie mixture to each chip, then a few pieces of shrimp on top and lastly sprinkle with a smidgen of Gruyere’ or your favorite cheese.

Bake approx. 2-3 minutes or until the cheese has melted.

Garnish with sour cream, chives & lemon zest. Even an extra little sprinkle of Cajun seasoning and TA-DOW!! TICKLE me happy šŸ™‚

Now if you need more heat go ahead and play around with the seasoning. As you know I always encourage ya’ll to be creative with the recipes that I share. Make them your own and let me know what you come up with.

I hope that ya’ll have a wonderful holiday weekend grilling, eating and spending time with all of your family and friends.

XOXO,

Tickled Red