I am working on yummy little bites of goodness all this weekend, as well as Monday. So of course I will be sharing them with you all. I can’t leave you guys out you’re my crew, my buds, my pals. You guys help feed and fuel my domestic chores procrastinationism disease for the higher pursuit of delicious yummys and nonsensical stories. What would I do without you?

Part One: Lady Kisses Cookies AKA (Baci di Dama)

Lady Kisses have been around for eons. They are a scrumptious little Italian cookie that you can change up and have fun with. What good is a recipe if you can’t be creative right? I love flexibility with recipes.  The cookie itself can be of any nut flavor that you choose, although they are typically almond flavored. Then they “kiss” with a filling of chocolate, Nutella or your favorite fruit filling.

This time I used what was available in the pantry. These are almond with white chocolate and strawberry mixed into the white chocolate.  Here is what you will need…

1 1/2 cups flour

1 cup ground almonds

10 tbsp butter, softened

1/2 cup confectioners sugar

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp almond extract

2 ounces (or more) white chocolate

First: Preheat the oven to 325 ; line 2-3 baking sheets with parchment paper, Silpat sheets or treat with cooking spray.

Cream the butter and the sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

Add the egg yolk

Almond Extract

Ground Almonds

Flour

Mix all until thoroughly blended. Remember to scrape the sides of the bowl as well and mix.

Pat into a ball, cover and chill until firm. Approx. 2 hours

Once the dough has cooled break off small pieces and roll them into balls with your hands. The dough will make approx 40 individual (20 sandwich) cookies. Place the balls on the baking sheets, spaced out since they will spread in the oven.

Bake the cookies for about 20 minutes or until golden. Once they are done remove the cookies from the baking sheets and let them cool on wire racks.

While the cookies are cooling heat two ounces ( or a little more if you like extra) of white chocolate chips in a double broiler or a glass bowl over a sauce pan, filled with water about 1 1/2 inch below the bottom of the bowl.

If you use a glass bowl be sure that the water in the sauce pan does not touch the bottom of the bowl, otherwise the chocolate will scorch.

Don’t leave the chocolate for a minute. Keep stirring until you see that the chips are almost completely dissolved, then remove the chocolate from the heat. Keep stirring until the chocolate is completely smooth.

Match the cookies up by similar size and shape. Coat one cookie with chocolate (or desired filling) and sandwich,”kiss”, them together. Yum! Melding crunchy sweet with soft gooey sweet always TICKLES me.

For the strawberry version save a few cookies. Add approx. one tablespoon of strawberry preserves to the remaining  white chocolate. I like only a hint of strawberry, my darlin’ surfer likes a kick. It will make the consistency a bit coarser but the chocolate will soften in your fingers.

Lady Kisses usually come out a little more on the flat side.  I have a feeling the reason that mine came out rounder this time was to mock me. Yes to mock me. They look like little dumbbells, reminding me to get off my bum and exercise more.

Okay cute little dumbbells, after I have at least one of you. Maybe two or three. How about a plate full?

More little bites of goodness to come…enjoy!

Tickled Red