Yes I did say Eureka! I made soup 🙂 Now I know that doesn’t seem like a big deal to you but this was soup from scratch. It was one of my “cooking at random” recipes. If you have ever tried a new recipe before you will know, they do not always turn out for the best.  I am very happy with how it turned out because it started out as  simply this nagging idea. Also because wine tannins can be tricky and it just so happened to be yummy.

” I am a rockstar, I got my rock moves…Uh, check my flow, uh” . Sorry, channeled Pink for a moment. I’m just so TICKLED though.

My darlin’ surfer is sitting beside me with eyebrows raised wondering why I am typing, humming Pink and laughing. I know he’s thinking to himself ” Demented woman what are you up to now?”  Don’t worry babe I ‘m not blogging about you…yet 🙂 ! sshhh, first date story coming the next time he takes a trip.

Here are the reasons why I  had to make soup last night…

1. Left over Pinot Noir that I just had to do something with (waste not, want not).

2. Tortellini was haunting my thoughts, even while I was folding my many mountains of towels.

3. These beautiful seed catalog’s that came in yesterday. Seed Savers Exchange Heirloom Seeds and Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.

They have me impatient and twitching to get my hands on my garden. That way I can have beautiful fresh veggies for salads, soups, succotash and anything else that you can think of that involves veggies. I LOOOOOOVE me some veggies.

4. My Italian grandmother, whom I call Mom (Yes, I had name issues as a small child. Grasshopper was” Hobber Dobber”, so what can I say) will be so happy to know that I am using tomatoes and tomato paste when I cook.  Especially since I tortured her as a child by eating only buttered pasta. Big no, no in an Italian family. Trust me, I  offended both sides of my families “foodie sensibilities” until I was in my early twenties. Who am I foolin’, I sometimes still do, sorry y’all.

Before I posted this I made sure to have it tested by my oh so willing guinea pigs . My darlin’ surfer loved it. My 15 year old sister Emmy loved it enough to make her’s vanish within seconds. The monkeys of course are more difficult. Monkey One is not sure he likes the broth (he is my picky eater), Monkey Two likes it (then again he is always bugging his older brother to, ” Eat more veggies!”).

Well here is my new soup I hope that you like it. Feel free to leave a comment either way. I promise not to block you from the blog if you don’t like it…really… I swear 🙂

Tortellini Veggie Soup

Serves:8-10

Prep Time: 15 min.

Cook Time: 30 min.

4 pats of unsalted butter

1/2 cup Pinot Noir (the one I used was more fruity than bold)

3 cloves of garlic

1 teaspoon tomato paste

32 oz beef broth

4 cups water

8-9 oz tortellini

7 oz corn

7 oz peas

7 oz white beans ( canellini or northern)

7 oz lima beans

1 1/2 small zucchini

1/2 cup mushrooms (button or cremini)

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp rosemary

1/4 tsp bay leaves

1 round loaf of Italian bread

2 garlic cloves

mozzarella slices

grated Parmesan cheese

one large tomato sliced thin

oregano

In a large stock pot or dutch oven on medium heat start melting the butter. Add the wine to the butter and let simmer. This is that tricky tannin part I mentioned. Taste the mix before you add the garlic. The butter should cut the acidic taste of the tannins in the wine. If it still has a bitter taste add a little more butter and keep tasting until you like it.

Add the garlic by using a garlic press. You want the garlic to nearly dissolve. Let this cook for a couple of minutes on a fast simmer. Sorry the steam fogged my lens but you can see the bubbles.

Add the tomato paste and let the liquid cook for a couple of more minutes until it becomes a reux (near the consistency of thin gravy)

This is actually more burgundy in color. For some reason it looks brown here. Still trying to figure out my camera and lighting.

The recipe from here goes quickly. Add the broth…

Then the water, tortellini, corn, peas and beans. Keep the soup on medium to medium high heat.

Add all of the seasoning and spices now. While the soup is working it’s magic cut the zucchini into circles then cut those in half.

After the soup has cooked for about ten-fifteen minutes (before the pasta plumps) add the zucchini.

Just before the pasta is al dente add the mushrooms. They only take a couple of minutes to cook.

Now for the bonus I hinted at.

Take some really nice Italian bread, sliced. Crush the extra garlic cloves and rub on the slices of bread.

Add some slices of mozzarella and some Parmesan.

Slices of tomato, more Parmesan and a dash of oregano.

Broil just until the cheese melts and the edges are toasted. Serve along side the soup.

I am off to have some leftover’s before my lil’ brother and my darlin’ surfer beat me to it. Darn guys, always eating me out of house and home 🙂 I love it!

Tickled Red