I am in complete and utter sated bliss right now. I discovered a new dish tonight that has sent me off to foodie heaven. Creamy, flaky chicken and veggie turnovers with a hint of lemon… Oh my word! I can call it a night and hang up my oven mitt. Nah…I love food to much 🙂

I have had chicken on the brain all day after I saw the Chicken Not Pie made by Mark Bittman this morning on the Today Show. Although, I of course was craving the yummy scrump-delicious  flaky crust that usually goes along with it.  I can not give up bread just yet, so back off Jillian.

Chicken Pot Pie or Chicken Turnovers that was my conundrum this afternoon. Oh the hard decisions I have to make in life…woe is me.

I found a recipe for a Mushroom Turnover in Rachel Ray’s new issue and did what I always do when I find a recipe…put my own twist on it and made it my own. I am sure that there are similar recipes out there but here is my version with what I had on hand in the kitchen. You can make a turnover so many different ways, be creative with yours and have fun with it.

Chicken Turnover

3 boneless skinless chicken breast ( I prefer organic)

1 8oz container of sliced baby portobello mushrooms

1 large carrot

1 celery stalk

1 8oz package of cream cheese

2 tbsp feta cheese

3 tbsp fresh parsley

3 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)

1 shallot (finely chopped)

1/2 of a lemon (juice &  grated rind)

kosher salt (to season)

black pepper (to season)

6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 large egg (for egg wash)

1 17.3 oz package of puff pastry

1 tbsp of flour

Preheat your oven to 450, set out your puff pastry to thaw and bring your cream cheese to room temperature.

Season your chicken breast with salt and pepper. Coat an oven safe skillet with 3 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil. Bake the chicken for approx 25 minutes.

Coat a medium sauce pan with the remaining 3 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil. Slice the carrot and celery into slices of similar size and width as the mushrooms.

Chop finely the 3 cloves of garlic and 1 shallot.

Saute along with the mushrooms on medium heat until all of the moisture is out of the skillet and the veggies are just barely starting to caramelize.

*Note- I sauteed my mushrooms separately since I was making this up as I went along. You should saute all of the veggies together with the garlic and shallot*

While your veggies are sauteing, coarsely chop the parsley…


Grate 1/2 of a lemon’s rind…

Add all of the sauteed vegetables, parsley and lemon rind to a large bowl. Squeeze the lemon juice from the 1/2 lemon over the veggies.

Cut the cream cheese into small pieces and along with the feta cheese, add to the veggies.

Cut the chicken breast into bite size pieces, add to the veggies and cream cheese. Season with salt and pepper,  mix altogether.

Flour a work surface. Whisk 1 large egg in a bowl.

Lay out one sheet of puff pastry and roll it out to 11 inches or more. I love the mini roller my darlin’ surfer made me. It’s perfect for small jobs like this.

Cut the pastry in half, add the mixture to the center…

Brush around the edges with the egg wash, then fold the ends of the puff pastry over your mixture…

Use a fork to crimp down the sides…

Brush the tops with the rest of the egg wash, cut a couple of slices along the top to vent. Place on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet and bake at 450 for 18 minutes or until golden brown.

After 18 minutes you will end up with this…

Oh yea! I was doing the happy dance at this point, then I bit into it and well TICKLED is not the right word this time. I sighed. Heaven wrapped in golden flaky puff pastry. The best part was that my guys liked it as well, my surfer even ate the mushrooms and he hates mushrooms! I love it when I can make  something that has them sigh and say yum. It just makes my day.

You must try this. It really is easy and worth the 30 minute prep time.

Let me know how yours turns out.

Tickled Red