Almost every July 4th I am hounded, blackmailed and downright coerced into making this Triple Berry Cheesecake. My surfer LOVES it, especially since he bought me the cook book that the recipe is in. Have I told ya’ll how he takes credit for my cooking skills? Yes indeed, he loves to share that tall tale with everyone. I’ll give him 25% credit for buying me the fab cook book set but that is where I have to draw the line. Well…okay, maybe 45%…I did almost put him in the hospital with my Lemon Chicken one night way back when we first met.

This cheesecake is absolutely perfect for Independence Day. It has our beloved red, white and blue being displayed with an abundance of  fresh, luscious berries coated in preserves and rich decadent cream cheese covered with sweetened sour cream.

I have mentioned this fabulous cook book before and ya’ll know that I adore Williams and Sonoma to no end. As I have said before, I would take up residence in their store if they would allow it but I am not so sure goofy redheads are their cup of tea when it comes to accessorizing their store 🙂 I highly recommend the cook book though if you have a passion for cheesecake’s. It is a perfect choice to get you started.

I did change this recipe up just a bit. Rather than use a standard 9″ spring form pan I went with my 6″ spring form and 4 mini flan pans with removable bottoms. This way I now have a cake ready for this weekends festivities and we were able to have our own little individual treats tonight. I really do hope that you give this a try tomorrow it is worth the extra little effort.

*Now I know that ya’ll are saying to yourselves, “What in the world is up with Red? She used to do step by step photos with all of her recipes!” I promise that those days will be back soon. As of right now I am in the throws of upgrading Tickled Red and have to conserve space for just a wee  bit longer. Thank You for dealing with just a couple of photos for now-XOXO*

Here is what you will need to make…

Triple Berry Cheesecake- by Williams and Sonoma

Prep Work:

Preheat oven to 350

Coat spring form pan with non-stick  baking spray

For the Crust:

2 cups (6 oz) graham cracker crumbs

1.4 cup (2 oz) sugar

1/2 cup (4 oz) unsalted butter, melted & cooled.

To make the crust, in a food processor fitted with the metal blade, combine the crumbs, sugar & melted butter. Process until the crumbs begin to stick together. With your hand press the crumbs firmly onto the bottom and 2 1/4 inches up the sides of a spring form pan 9inches in diameter and 2 1/2 inches deep. Wrap aluminum foil around the outside of the pan. Bake the crust for 10 minutes until set. Remove from the oven and let cool. Leave the oven set at 350.

*I tend to form my crumb crust sides first then the bottom*

________________________________________________________________

For the Filling:

2lb (4-8 oz pkgs) Philadelphia Cream Cheese

1 cup (8 oz) sugar

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 teaspoons vanilla extract (essence)

4 large eggs, at room temperature

To make the filling, in a large bowl, combine the cream cheese, sugar, lemon juice and vanilla extract. Using an electric mixer set on medium speed, beat until well blended. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition just until combined. Pour the filling into the cooled crust. Bake until the edges are set but the center still quivers slightly when the pan is shaken, about 1 hour and 10 minutes.

________________________________________________________________

For the Topping:

1 1/2 cups (12 fl oz) sour cream

3 tablespoons sugar

1/3 cup seedless raspberry preserves

1 cup (4 oz) strawberries, stems removed & sliced

1/2 cup (2 oz) raspberries

1/2 cup (2 oz) blueberries

Meanwhile, to make the topping, in a bowl, stir together the sour cream and sugar. When the cheesecake is done, spoon the sour cream mixture over the top. Return the cake to the oven for 5 minutes longer to set. Transfer to a rack to cool. Cover with aluminum foil and refrigerate overnight or for up to 2 days.

The next day run a knife around the pan sides to loosen the cake. In a large, heavy frying pan over medium heat, stir the preserves until melted. Remove from the heat, add all the berries and toss to coat. Mound the berries atop the cake. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or for up to 2 hours and…

Oh yeah! Scrump-deli-ishous!! Look at that cute little goody just waiting to be devoured. Is TICKLED a strong enough word this time or should I say ECSTATIC? I will not tell a lie, there wasn’t a single solitary crumb left on our plates this evening.  I can’t wait to share the larger cheesecake with everyone this weekend.

As always I encourage you to play with the recipes on here, have fun and make them your own 🙂

I am curious though what do you traditionally make for Independence Day?

Xoxo,

Tickled Red

PS: Williams and Sonoma does not know about the goofy redhead living in the south with her surfer and monkeys. They just happen to be one of my many loves.

