Tonight I am sharing with you all my twist on two of my favorite summer yummies. Yesterday I went with a couple of girlfriends to the farmers market and came across some beautiful fresh green tomatoes.

Fresh green tomatoes = Fried Green Tomatoes in my book but I was also craving a BLT for lunch today. Oh what a dilemma! What to do? What to do?

Fried Green Tomato BLT with Smoked Apple Wood Bacon & Goat Cheese on Harvest Wheat Bread. Yummy TICKLE-ICIOUS 🙂 Ha,Ha there I go making up words again. I am pretty sure that someone in the past must have had a similar idea. This is as easy as 2+2=4, how could someone not make this? 🙂

First set the broiler of the oven to low.

Fry up some lovely meat candy in a cast iron skillet.

Then crack one egg into a bowl and whisk to be used as an egg wash. Put about 1 cup of yellow cornmeal in a bowl for the breading. Slice up a beautiful green tomato.

Dredge the slices of tomato in the egg wash.

Then coat the tomato slices with the corn meal.

Fry the green tomato slices approx. 5 minutes in the bacon grease, keeping them firm not mushy. Yes! I said the bacon grease. It’s all good folks I promise. Bacon grease makes the world go round. What did you think was on the axis keeping it all lubed up and running smooth?

Spread some delicious creamy goat’s cheese on each slice of harvest grain bread and broil until just warm and gooey.

Then build your BLT and enjoy 🙂 Ahhh…green lunches are the best.

I hope that you enjoy trying my little twist on a couple of summer favorites.

How do you make your favorite BLT?

Tickled Red

