What an amazing, fun filled, busy weekend. The National Food Bloggers Bake Sale this Saturday was so much fun as well as a learning experience. It was supported by some generous businesses, lovely women and a couple of dads who devoted their time towards what we all consider to be a worthwhile cause. A couple of the ladies were of course bloggers and some were just local parents willing to pitch in what they could. To me they are precious and I adore them all.

Bake Sale Menu

Brownies

Rice Krispy Treats

Lemon Bars

Jumbo Pecan Muffins

White Chocolate Cheesecake Squares

Sweet Potato Muffins

Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Pumpkin Cheesecake Squares

Chocolate Covered Pretzels

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Uglies

Lemon Poppy Bread

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Citrus Cupcakes

Krispy Kreme Doughnuts & Coffee

Friday afternoon we discovered that our venue had an unexpected need to change. So I have to send out an extra special THANK YOU to Pam of King Neptune’s Restaurant as well as Dean and Chris of Aussie Island Surf Shop. They were extremely generous in allowing us to set up our bake sell at their establishments last minute. I love the people in my surfing community. They never fail to lend a helping hand.

The Quirky Redhead drove an hour to bring her baked goods and to help sale all of our yummies. That would be her gorgeous self in the photo below. She baked for the sale her secretly famous Sweet Potato Muffins (I am hoping to convince her to post them) and her scrumptious Glazed Lemon Poppy Bread . I am a sucker for anything made with lemon.

Pie Pans & Pigtails who also drove in for the sale, made some of her delicious Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Uglies (love the name) and her ever popular Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Cookies. She wanted me to photoshop her out of the photos. Yeah right! One-I don’t have photoshop and Two- There is a reason why her blog has pigtails in it’s title. I had to show ya’ll her adorable red haired pigtails and her hat that was just too cute.

She also brought along one of my favorite people to help us out with our marketing, Miss Avah.

Would you like some milk with your cookies? That’s right sweetie… hook’em and reel’em in with your cute self.

We also had some help from my oldest monkey.

Until this little lady distracted him.

The name is Chile. Chile’s owner had better keep a low profile because this baby needs to come live with me. She knows that the redheaded lady will spoil her rotten, don’t you girl.

We were actually surrounded by adorable dogs.

MacDuff. Yes he is named after the book as I found out.

Cooper who’s daddy slipped him a treat.

My other two guys came by to support us on their way to soccer .

My darlin’ of course fell for our VP of marketing 🙂

Overall it was a great Saturday. We didn’t make as much as we would have liked, $181.51 on site and $35.00 online, only a drop towards a larger bucket but a drop does make ripples. I believe that we made some ripples in Wilmington that will lead towards  (if there is one) next years bake sale reaching a wider audience and bringing more attention to our cause. We had a blast together and most of all brought awareness to Share Our Strength , an organization that is making strides towards a unique and growing issue in our country .

I would like to say thank you to Gaby with What’s Gaby Cooking? She was/is the driving force behind the National Food Bloggers Bake Sale. Her leadership, hard work and dedication allowed for all of us across the country to come together and earn a whopping $16,500 in one day for Share Our Strength. So Gaby, Thank You!! I truly hope that you make this an annual bake sale. Stop by Gaby’s site to see how well everyone else did.

Also I need to say Thank You too the following people…

Alecia-For making an endless supply of Rice Krispy Treats

Coach John-For making Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

The Hardee Family- For making Lemon Bars, Brownies & Jumbo Muffins.

Sherry- For making two different kinds of  Chocolate Covered  Pretzels

Krispy Kreme-for donating Doughnuts & Coffee (if you do not have a store near by my heart bleeds for you…they are awesome!!)

The wonderful people who stopped to buy our homemade yummies or simply donated.

All of you guys rock and TICKLE my heart strings!!!

I really did have a great time and look forward to doing it again.

Tickled Red

PS: Leftovers were donated to local schools to provide snacks to students.

