Can you guess what I have made for Part Two of Little Bites of Goodness? I will give you a hint… I used two out of the three items that you see in the picture and put them in the freezer. Still haven’t guessed ? That’s okay it was a pretty tricky hint.

I made Granitas. Granitas are basically flavored ices.Β  I made one just for my darlin’ surfer and myself, as well a flavor for the monkeys. If I haven’t mentioned it before my darlin’ makes me killer coffee every morning. He is going through all of my extracts and cinnamon at break neck speed but it’s worth it. The Granita that I made for us was Espresso. Dark and rich just the way we like our coffee. Let’s start with that recipe first.

Espresso GranitaIce

Here is what you will need…

2 cups water

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup very strong espresso (approx. 8 shots) cooled

whipped cream & dark chocolate to garnish

Heat the water and sugar over low heat until all of the sugar has dissolved. Then bring the sugar water to a boil for just a moment and remove from the heat to cool. Combine the espresso with the sugar syrup. Place in a shallow container or freezer tray. Freeze until solid. Cut into chunks and place in a food processor. Process into fine shavings.

Easy peasy and perfect for those who are addicted to coffee like I am. This is how I have my rich coffee on those hot humid southern days.

Now just put it in a cup or ice cream dish. Add whipped cream and dark chocolate shavings to garnish the top. Ahhh…life is grand.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

For the monkeys I made the classic Lemon. Let’s just say that sharing the Espresso Granita with them is the last thing that I need. They would be bouncing off of the walls like cute little ping pong balls. You know how goofy they can already be… πŸ™‚ I also love the Lemon flavor. It was my favorite as a child but I never truly appreciated how tart and refreshing the homemade version could be until I went to Italy.

Lemon Granita-Ice

Here is what you will need…

2 cups water

1/2 cup sugar

grated zest of one lemon

juice of two large lemons

Heat the water and sugar on low until the sugar is dissolved as before. Bring the sugar water to a boil for just a moment and remove from the heat to cool. Combine the lemon zest and lemon juice with the sugar syrup. Place in a shallow container or freezer tray. Freeze until solid. Cut into chunks and place them into a food processor. Process into fine shavings.

Pucker up my monkey loves because this is tart, refreshing and delicious πŸ™‚

Today it was just me, the monkeys and their friend Alex around to enjoy these. My darlin’ surfer had to wait until he came home from coaching to enjoy his. That’s okay good things come to those who wait right?

The boys and I couldn’t wait, they were just to good after an afternoon of watching Uncle Blaine’s lacrosse game. This picture TICKLES me the most. Licked clean bowls πŸ™‚ when you are a mom it is a satisfying site to behold.

Mmhmm… I wish that they had licked them clean but I can not tell a lie. They were able to get about halfway through before they were off and running again. I am not complaining, that just meant more for me.

I hope that you enjoy making these cool, refreshing and extremely simple delights one day soon.

Part Three of Four coming soon.

Tickled Red

