This morning started out the same as any other. The alarm went off, I rolled out of bed, turned on my auto pilot and woke up the monkeys. My darlin’ made his killer coffee like always, I had half a cup and drove Monkey One to school. All was well…or so I thought. I should have known better. My resident Leprechauns were up to their shenanigans again while I was out.

One of these days I will develop a Leprechaun Radar so help me.

As soon as I got home my darlin’ took off for work. Monkey One was content with building hotels out of Lincoln Logs (he is on spring break right now). It was the perfect time to refill my cup of Joe and pull out my strawberry surprise for some final touches and quick photos. Right about now I should have heard loud fog horns of warning echoing through the house. Screeching sirens, banshee wails, a tingling of hairs on the back of my neck or even a simple Abort…Abort would have sufficed. That way I would have known to call it a day and go back to bed, pull the covers over my head and hide until the end of all days.

First I made my coffee, milk and two sugars please, but milk is not what I poured into it. Oh no, I the brilliant Red, poured Sunny-D into my fabulous cup of Joe…sigh. Downhill it went from there at the speed of a locomotive. No build up, no second or third clues of looming disaster on the horizon. Not with my Leprechauns. At least they don’t drag things out. They catch you swiftly and go straight for the sweet spot. No pun intended but oh so true.

I went to the refrigerator, pulled out my “sweet”, removed it from the pan, cut a slice and discovered this… not a TICKLED moment.

Go ahead and laugh. Get it out of your system even if it is at my expense. I’ll give you a moment or two while I keep sipping my much deserved Shiraz. I know that after seeing the ugh, mess up there, that you can’t help the giggles, gauffs & snorts. What was it Han Solo said to Chewbacca? Oh yeah…” Laugh it up fuzzball…laugh it up”.

Sip… whistle…stretch…sip…tap, tap,tap…

Okay times up.

Don’t worry it’s okay. I laughed a bit myself, cried, giggled and cried some more.  Needless to say you are not getting the recipe tonight for my strawberry cheesecake.

Here is the sad part, I know cheesecake. It’s my “thang” so to speak and that pink thing is not my strawberry cheesecake.  My cheesecake does not go BLUB when it is sliced. It does not resemble a pink gelatinous glop from some science experiment gone awry. At least the shortbread crust turned out okay.

I felt like I was moving in, okay I am just going to say it, pink gooey quicksand for the rest of the day. I was done, I didn’t even have the energy to throw it out. Wallowing in self pity for hours sounded fabulous right then. Who am I kidding that’s not like me at all.

It was a lesson well learned or relearned so to speak. The one that goes, ” If it isn’t broke don’t fix it”. I should know that one by now. I changed my recipe at the last minute. Do not change your recipe with out double checking all of the details first. Lesson learned thank you very much.

I am still blaming it on the Leprechauns though. 

On a good note I am a girl who takes lemons and makes lemonade. Yes, the strawberry cheesecake was soft and gooey but no I was not going to let it get me down. I am too forward thinking and positive for that. The pink goo still tasted fantastic, so waste not want not. Strawberry Cheesecake Mousse with Shortbread Crumble and fresh strawberries on top.

My darlin’ surfer loves it.

I am off now to tuck my tail in shame and stick my head in the sand…just a little.  I still owe you all a recipe, or two or three. No worries I have them all lined up and ready to start working on tomorrow and the next day. A couple sweet and one rich.

Until then…I’ll be making like an ostrich, not to mention I will probably be having nightmares tonight of, ” The Return of the Blob: Indestructible Pink Strawberry Goo… just waiting to swallow you whole! “

Tickled Red

