I have to be honest with ya’ll and tell you that I am not a fan of Corn Beef and Cabbage. Now, now… don’t lynch me. It wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t offending some part of my families traditional foodie sensibilities.

Over the years I have developed my own traditional St. Patty’s Day dinner. It is of course your basic one pot meat and potatoes dish (my favorite) but on this day you have to add Guinness to the pot. If I didn’t those pesky bothersome Leprechauns that haunt me often would come out for revenge.

So here is my nod to St. Patrick’s Day

Guinness Kielbasa Stew

You will need

8 medium potatoes quartered

2 large carrots cut into approx 1/2 inch circles

1 kielbasa cut into circles then halved

1/4 onion (medium) diced

1/2 leek diced

4-6 tbsp Guinness

1 1/2 cups Vegetable Broth

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp olive oil

a sprinkle of Rosemary and Thyme

Prep First: Get everything chopped.

Warm the olive oil. Add the kielbasa and brown on medium high heat until it begins to get a little color. I like my meat browned, a little idiosyncrasy of mine 🙂

Add the diced onion and leek to the kielbasa. Cook until all of the vegetables are completely “sweated” down.

Now add the Guinness  🙂  How much is up to you. I recommend 4-6 tbsp.  I have done 7 before and it was  just a bit too much.

Also add the 1 1/2 cups of broth.

Add the potatoes and carrots. Salt and pepper to taste and add just a dash of rosemary and thyme. You do not see a lot of carrots in the pot because my darlin’ surfer ate all but one and didn’t tell me. I had to hoof it to the store and get some more while everything else cooked. Look at what I found though. Wow! Big carrot!

You are going to look at this and say “Red is crazy! The vegetables are not covered in liquid?” This not a soup stew it is a sauce stew. Keep the heat on medium and cover. The vegetables will soften and you will have a rich thick sauce at the bottom. Cook until the potatoes are tender. Keep an eye on the pot. If you are off chasing carrots like I was tonight you will only have a little sauce at the bottom because it has cooked to long. Tonight mine was a little on the mushy side but still hearty and delicious!

You can take it step further and add my favorite cheese on top. I discovered Kerrygold Reserve Cheddar when my surfer and I visited Ireland, it is on the pricey side but worth it. Their butter is out of this world too!

I love it when the steam fogs my lenses. Cheesy goodness on top of my stew TICKLES my tummy. PS: Don’t forget a slice of beer bread to go with it. Go ahead and carb out tonight. You can blame it on me… I give you permission 🙂

I am off now to leave a bowl of stew and a pint of Guinness out for the naughty, mischievous Leprechauns. I am of the opinion that it has to appease them on some level.

Hopefully it helps to keep me in their good graces… it can’t hurt.

Tickled Red

