Let me start by saying, as you drool over the yummy pictured above, that I do not have a big sweet tooth.

What? Yeah right Red! You are always talking about making cheesecakes and look at thing up there. Red, you are a big ole Fibber McGee!

I hear you, but really I don’t. I just happen to like making cheesecake, cake, cupcakes anything sweet for friends and family. I am more of a, “Can I do that?” kinda girl with my baking rather than “I need something sweet today, let’s bake”. I like the challenge. When it comes down to a choice between something salty or something sweet, I’ll take a bag of Lay’s Potato Chips over candy any day of the week. Unless it happens to be a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. OOOooo…those are my ultimate, sweet tooth, weakness in the candy world.

Jillian would have to arm wrestle me for my Reese’s Cups. Yeah, Yeah, I know…she would beat the pants off of me but then again, I could always go buy some more right? Yep!

How can you not love them. That perfect balance of not too sweet, rich, creamy, chocolaty, peanut butterlicious ( like my new word) perfect bite size from heaven. When I eat them I like to pop the center out, eat the peanut butter first and then the chocolate shell. How do you eat yours? Can you eat just one? I can’t if they are the miniatures. My mom always gives me a bag for my birthday and such. The first place that they go is into the freezer and then I guard them with my life from the monkeys and my surfer. Nah, I only jest. I share my Reese’s Cups…a little 🙂 Do you share yours?

I always make it up to them though. They get this instead, Peanut Butter Cheesecake with Bittersweet Chocolate Glaze.  See, I do love them more than Reese’s Cups. I make this yummy for their enjoyment only and never have any myself. Okay if you believe that than I have some beautiful, water front, swamp land for sale with your name on it.

Just so you know, this darlin’ yummy is on the rich side. If you have any ideas of eating it all on your own think again. This is a one slice at a time dessert. Although if you are looking for something easy that you can make and yet still impress the in-laws or co-workers give it a try.

Peanut Butter Chocolate CheesecakeWilliams & Sonoma tweaked by me

Pre-heat the oven to 350

Crust

1 cup unsalted roasted peanuts

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup unsalted butter melted and cooled

In a food processor finely chop the peanuts and graham crackers.

Combine the peanuts, graham cracker crumbs, brown sugar and butter in a bowl. Mix thoroughly until the crumbs begin to stick together.

Spray a 9 inch spring form pan with cooking spray to keep the crumbs from sticking. Press the crumbs onto the bottom and approx. 2 inches up the sides of the spring form pan.

Bake the crust for 10 minutes until set. Remove from the oven and let cool completely.

Filling

1 lb cream cheese, at room temperature

2 cups creamy peanut butter

2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup heavy cream, chilled

In a mixing bowl combine the cream cheese and peanut butter. With the mixer set on medium, beat until well blended.

Beat in the confectioners’ sugar and vanilla (imitation for me this time due to my darlin’ surfer) until thoroughly incorporated.

Now here is the only tricky part. You either need two mixers (yeah right say the readers) or in a separate bowl with clean, dry beaters on medium high speed, beat the cream until stiff peaks are formed.

Beat the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture until thoroughly combined. Remember to pause and crape down the sides from time to time.

Spoon the filling into the cooled crust and smooth the top.

Cover and refrigerate for at least four hours or overnight before you add the glaze.

Bittersweet Chocolate Glaze

6 tbsp heavy cream

6 tbsp dark corn syrup

8 oz bittersweet chocolate

In a medium sized heavy saucepan over medium heat, combine the cream and corn syrup. Bring to a simmer, then reduce the heat to low.

Add the chocolate and whisk until melted and smooth, about one minute.

Remove from the heat and let stand until lukewarm, about ten minutes. the glaze should be thick but still pourable.

Pour the glaze over the peanut butter cheesecake, recover and refrigerate for at least two hours (or up to three days) before serving.

Then all you need to do is slice a piece, drizzle some caramel over the top and serve it up to your guys. Or… you don’t tell anyone and keep it all for yourself along with the Reese’s Cups.

Shhh… they don’t know what’s hidden in the veggie drawer of the fridge. It’s the perfect spot, the monkeys never go looking for veggies. Uh oh! Wait a minute… Monkey Two does. Hey M2 what are you doing in the fridge? Wait, no…don’t go in there!

I have to run and save my cheesecake. Don’t forget a big glass of milk or a cup of your favorite coffee to go with your slice of decadence. Enjoy!

Peanut butter & chocolate makes me smile! It TICKLES me from my tummy to my toes 🙂

How about you? What is your favorite sweet flavor combo?

Tickled Red

