There’s the possibility that I have mentioned this before but it bears repeating, I love Greek flavors. Feta, lemon, capers and tangy Greek yogurt; these are all staple ingredients in my kitchen and I use them frequently in meals. Especially Greek Yogurt, it’s my substitute for mayo. I’m not a total health nut, if I were fried shrimp, bacon and redeye gravy would be off the menu but by no means am I about to let that happen. I will however make concessions because I do care about what I eat.

So we enjoy our fried foods and meat candy (bacon) in moderation and I use Greek yogurt when making classic creamy salads like tuna salad, macaroni salad and of course my favorite chicken salad sandwiches. Creamy chicken salad with a tang of yogurt and bite of capers, on a mini pita is one of my favorite lunches.

Now I know y’all are probably wondering to yourselves, “It’s October right? What’s up with the chicken salad, where are the soup and pumpkin recipes? You do know it’s fall right Red?” I do indeed and they are coming I promise but I have never really been one to follow along, to be honest up until this morning it has still been 75-85 degrees here. I need that cool touch of fall in the air to motivate me into cooking harvest foods. So in the meantime here is what you will need for my favorite chicken salad recipe.

Chicken Salad

Marinade:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1/2 teaspoon rosemary

For the salad:

3 1/2 cups chopped boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/3 cup chopped (slivered) almonds

1 cup celery

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon capers

1/2 cup greek yogurt

spinach leaves

tomato slices

mini pita bread

salt& pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 425.

Mix the olive oil, balsamic & rosemary in a bowl.

Place the chicken breasts in a dish and pour the marinade on top. Turn the chicken breast in order to coat each side and let them sit in the marinade for approx. 15 min.

In an oven safe skillet on medium high heat, sear each side of the chicken breast until slightly golden. Then place them in the oven at 425 for approx. 25 minutes or until done. Remove from the oven and let them rest for 5-10 minutes.

   

While the chicken is baking, chop the almonds and dice the celery. After the chicken has rested chop it into approx. 1 inch pieces. Mix in a large bowl the chicken, almonds, celery and capers; salt and pepper to taste.

Then comes the best part…Greek yogurt! Slice the mini pita’s add some crisp spinach leaves, slices of ripe tomato and look at what a gorgeous, tasty healthy lunch.

Now y’all know why these would be one of my favorite recipes, these little beauties have been making my lunch hour at my new job :)

I hope that you all enjoy giving them a try, by all means add your own flavors to the mix and have fun playing with the recipe. Let me know what you end up creating.

Xoxo,

Tickled Red